My introduction and please help out a newbie

janbach

Hello everyone,
I am Jan and English is not my native tongue.
I think that everybody has a humble beginning, which I do. I have little knowledge of music production. That is why I come here to get to know you and hopefully learn something from you.
First I would like to introduce myself:
I am a pianist keyboarder and organist. So I work mostly with MIDI. My genre is mostly pop / rock ballad, but dubstep hybrid / crossover is my goal right now.
So far I have tried Cubase 5, Reaper and FL Studio 11. I worked with Reaper most often but my Reaper is just crackling when I first loaded it. I always have to load it twice. Therefore I have doubts. I use ASIO4all
I recorded some vocals on Reaper which work quite well.
Unfortunately I can not get my plugins being recognized at FL Studio 11, so I never use it for a real project other than try it out.
I have searched the forum using advanced search modus for DAW topics, but could not find any that specifically match workflow with which DAW.

My operating system is Windows 7 64 bit.
Hardware: (Laptop) CPU: 2 x AMD E 450 APU with Radeon Graphics, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB Harddisk with 5400 /min
Interface: M-Audio Fast Track ; PreSonus Tube V2 Preamp
Condenser Mic: M-Audio Nova

I would like to work with MIDI and VST Plugins for the instrumental part and keep the audio track only for vocal.
In the near future I would like to work with Melodyne to manipulate the vocal track (s)

My workflow: I recorded the instrumental accompanyment first (mostly piano track) on MIDI
Then I recorded the vocal
I have never worked beyond three tracks and want to add complexity to the arrangement so that it reach the level of most contemporary production.

I am looking forward for a friendship and wish you a great day. Thank you for reading my post. I will highly appreciate your advice.

Last edited:
Welcome to the world of music production.