Mixing input and ideas for the song

Eelis Ewert

Hey erbody,

View attachment TrumpSolo.mp3

I don't have any friends that play around in cubase like I do so maybe I can find some here ;)
I'm a total amateur when it comes to mixing and I find it really difficult, especially after an hour or two I just go total retard and can't for the life of me tell what sounds good or not.
So maybe you could help and comment on what I should change in the track..

Also I would reaaallly welcome any ideas of how to proceed with it. I have a hard time figuring out what the vocals should be like.
I was thinking maybe a kind of spanish sounding guitar in the intro, and for the cymbal part after the trumpet solo (cymbals sound shit right now, I know :P) I was thinking something in the style of the intro to Muse's "Uno"
That would be really badass I think.

Thanks in advance :rolleyes:

Well I don't necessarily use cubase, however I may can help you with learning the basics in mixing in general. Let me ask, what do you use to hear while mixing? I've noticed you said you can't hear what sounds good. This could be due too the type of speakers or headphones you are using. If not then mixing will just take practice.

Last edited:
this is a house tune if i ever heard one -- try adding a fat kick 4 on the floor with and offbeat ride and clap when the main trumpet come is, switch up the drums will bring a lot of life --- the mix down doesn't sound that bad its just really quiet. I think some fat drums would sound dope idk what your trying to go for. Also theres a weird harmonic click thing every once in a while i cant tell if thats supposed to be there or not def see when that sound comes in what else is playing at that time they sound like they're clashing. kinda hard to give you exact tip without seeing the mix down process but i think that would jog your creative ness.