Mackie Onyx 1620i as DAW-controller, audio interface for vocal tracking ++

ska92

I work mostly with MIDI and vocal tracking (beatmaking) and have grown tired of everything going super-slow. So will the 1620i work well a controller for both Pro Tools and Logic? Is there any kind of decent auto-mapping for both DAWs? And I want something that will be able to record 16 channels individually into PT/Logic - will the 1620i get the job done? I'm fairly new to this, so I have actually done my reasearch, I just don't want to buy gear that has a bunch of extra functions i won't need, or that won't do what I need it for. I basically want something that will handle every kind of job (to som extent) - recording a band, with ca. 8 drum tracks, two guitar tracks, bass, and 3-4 vocals. Live gigs with the same amount of tracks needed, and a decent DAW-controller.

What would my other options be?

I can also get a good price on a Mackie 1604 vlz pro, but understand that this will only give me usable pan and volume? Everything else will be much easier to control from within my DAW i assume?

What do you think?

Edit: Looks like i missed something during my first specs read-through ; I guess the 1640i is the one to consider since the 1620i only has two outs

Last edited:
The 1620i/1640i are simply analog mixers with a better-than-most FireWire integration - they're not DAW controllers at all (same goes for the VLZ series, although they don't even have any kind of a digital interface). But as a solution to record & mix 16 channels, not a bad choice - was considering the 1640i myself for a long time...eventually gave up that dream mainly because of space constraints.