Introduction

xlok3x

Hi there!

I hope this is in the right section, I'm a complete newbie to the whole music production world..however I love music and its one of my passions and would love to get into it. I'm hoping someone can help point me in the right direction, I want to create electronic style music and I would like to use ableton live. I have no prior experience or knowledge but I'm really good at learning things fairly quick, I catch on easy so to speak. Also curious if there is any equipment I should get to start with, I am a Windows-PC user.

Thanks!

There's probably a million answers to these questions already, so I'll be brief.

Stuff to buy:
- Computer with decent specs
- DAW (sounds like you have Ableton)
- Audio interface, if you plan to use a microphone or want better monitoring quality
- Studio monitors (speakers) to hear your tracks
- Studio headphones, especially if you plan to record vocals or work at night
- A midi keyboard to record melodic elements
- A midi pad to record percussive elements
- Virtual instruments, if Ableton doesn't fully meet your needs (not sure since I've never used it)
- Mixing and effects plugins, if Ableton doesn't fully meet your needs (not sure since I've never used it)
- A microphone if you plan to record vocals or instruments, preferably a large diaphragm condenser that attaches to an XLR cable, not USB

Other thoughts:
- Make sure you love it - are you doing it for expected fame or because it's fun this week as an activity? If it's so fun that you lose track of time doing it, that's a good indication it's for you.
- You're going to make crappy songs at first. You have to make a lot of crappy songs before you can make good ones.
- Learning music theory and practicing the musician's definition of ear training will help you. Some keyboard/piano ability will help.
- Learning engineering techniques and practicing the engineer's definition of ear training will help you.

Good luck!