I'd like to start producing, but I have no idea where to begin

JayS

Hey guys,
I just registered in this forum, and I am completely new to this. I love electronic music and sometimes I come up with melodies in my head that I would love to turn into songs, but I feel like I've been dropped in some foreign country and I really have no idea what to do now. I have a roland keyboard from when I was a child, but I don't really know how to play it anymore. I was hoping you guys could give me some help here.

Thanks in advance

Firstly, you need a DAW, right?

Then, you're gonna read it's manual, and start messing around with it, to get the feeling of it, and to be confortable with how things work.

Then, you're going to watch tutorials on youtube, on how to achieve the sound the pros get.

Sometimes you'll have a tutorial that is based on the DAW you've chosen, sometimes not. But you'll keep in mind that any DAW is capable of doing the same things, even if people say "this DAW" is better than "that DAW". So you can watch a tutorial made on Ableton, while you're using Cubase, for example. And you'll understand it, and you will replicate it on your DAW, as you have already read the manual, and you know how things work inside it.

Then, you're going to search for breakbeat loops to chop, and create your own breaks. Or you'll create them from scratch. And this, obviously, following tutorials on youtube.

Then comes the biggest problem: how do the big names get this clean, punching mix? You, again, will search youtube, or any other website that contain valuable info on how to clean your mix.

Then, you're going to practice, and practice. And post your efforts here, for feedback from the most experienced users.

While doing all this, you're going to study some theory too, as it'll help you get that medoly you have in your head, and transform it into music.

I hope my answer helped you