How to Improve your mixes

Ohkayitsme

Hey Guys,
I've been producing for about 5 years now. I wanted to share some production tips & techniques that have helped me become a much better producer.

1. Group Channels
To save CPU, grouping your different instruments helps keeping your mix more organized and certain FX cleaner. I usually create separate group-channels for Drums, Bass, Synths, Live Instruments, FX and Vocals. It is up to you how you want to group your channels, but I do this to make it easier for EQ'ing, Delay and Reverb mixing, even compression.

Before anything in the mixing process, I start with levels. With this I mean adjusting the volume levels on each individual track. I start off by bringing all the individual channels down to about 30% volume level. (Leaving the group-channels at 80% volume level.) Then I determine 2-3 elements of the song I want to be the most dominant in the mix, for example in my productions I often want the Vocal to be most upfront with the Lead Synth, and I also like 808/Kick to dominate in drops. These elements I bring up to about 50-60% volume level and adjust them accordingly to each other. From there I go through the remaining elements and adjust them accordingly.

In between and after leveling I determine where in my mix I want these elements, I tend to put synths, hats and pads more on the side of the mix and let bass and vocals dominate in the center. This way you create more space, your mix will breathe more and it will be cleaner and it can become louder. Don't be afraid of panning your instruments left/right or widening your leads. Kicks and sub bass should always be in Mono!

3. EQ'ing