How to eq frequencies from vocal sample

:=:

:=:
Hello, this is my first post and I was just wondering if anyone could me some advice on mixing. I have been practicing recording myself so I can have something to work with, the ultimate goal is to find a way to get a clean vocal recording. I would appreciate any help you can give :monkey:

Hi there ! I'm no pro but I have done a fair number of recordings of myself and others in the past. I could try and give you some advice on recording and mixing for voices.

First thing I'd say is you have to take into account the instrumental you're using. Is it a very dense instrumental with a lot of things going on or does it have just your basic drums, bassline, and (relatively) discreet sample?

In these two different scenarios, this is how I like to proceed:

- First option: if the instrumental is quite full and doesn't have a lot of space, I like to record 2 main vocal tracks (recorded in the most identical way possible, otherwise you'll have to make some annoying editing and cuts). I then pan one to the left and one to the right (not too far though). Usually this works quite well and I get the feeling that it blends in nicely with the instrumental. For backing vocals I do the same (although both backing vocal tracks don't HAVE to be identical, I sometimes like to vary the tone of voice and/or the words I choose to back up). I then pan those backing vocals left and right to the max.

- Second option: If the instrumental does have space, you can still try the above method, but personnally I usually go for a basic and simple approach: 1 main vocal track (centered) and two backing vocal tracks (panned left and right but not to the maximum, just a bit so that you can hear all three tracks nicely).

Now i'm not sure if you actually needed all the information above, but hey, it could help who knows.

Now, for the actual mixing part of the vocal track: