How do I go about learning how to make whatever sounds I want?

THE MOON

I have been doing music production for about 15 months now, and I am still overwhelmed and feeling very inadequate. I have been trying to make music for a long time, but always run into the same problems. I don't know how to make good sounds from scratch, I can think of sounds that I might want to use in a track, but I can never make the sounds due to my inadequacies. Often it is because I don't know how to combine multiple sounds to make the ones I want, or because I don't know what effects to use or how to use them or what to use them with. I don't know what filters to use or how to use them.

In other words, I know absolutely nothing about how to make sounds of any kind, despite trying to figure it out for over a year. I also can't afford any kind of software or hardware that costs more than $25, and wont be able to for some time.

I have FLStudio10, an Oxygen 61 keyboard, an electric guitar, and around 30 different VSTs and over 9,000 drum samples and over 200 soundfonts of various kinds. The VST I use most however is Synth1, which is the only one that I can understand well enough to do anything with.

So my question is: How do I go about learning to make the sounds I want? How do I develop an understanding of things that will allow me to know what to do whenever I need to make a new sound, or just trying to get a sample to sound good? I have wanted to make music my whole life and I have nothing to show for it, I desperately need help. I've become depressed over my inabilities, and I will take any help or advice at all.

Last edited:
Learn what all the different things do and how they affect the sound to a point where it's in the back of your head and you can focus on the creative part rather than struggling with technical stuff (which blocks the path between an idea and a matching result).
This will take some time, so you need to have patience.

And experiment, have fun while producing.