How can i improve the quality of my mixing environment?

notoriousben15

I am a complete mixing newbie, and the #1 thing on all mixing articles seems to be creating the ideal environment. Well, i have a very funky San Francisco home from an architecture standpoint, and i'm not entirely sure how it falls in on the spectrum.

For starters, my music area is not in a bedroom, or really much of a room at all. It's a funky area at the top of a staircase - it's a very wide open space that is kind of in the middle of the home, with all of the other rooms connecting to it from other sides. Everything i'm reading focuses only on a regular room, but for the sake of simplicity, let's say this area is more like a big living room than an actual room, since it's not enclosed on all sides. Is that kind of open space good or bad for a mixing room?

Basically, i'm not sure if i'm hearing all of the little sounds from my monitors that i would hear in a better environment, though there is a good chance that maybe i just need better equipment? I'm currently using pretty old stuff - M-Audio Fastrack, Generation 1 KRK Rokit 5's, and a 5 year old Macbook pro. Can the M-Audio Fastrack be the limiting factor? Does the audio interface make that much of a difference in what comes out of the mixers?

Any input would be much appreciated, but keep in mind i'm 100% amateur and don't have the budget to make major purchases. Thanks everyone!

Doesn't sound ideal - I think your best bet is to get some good open-backed headphones and use them to gain reference on the mix (and your room/space) and make adjustments as nessessary.

Other than that - some acoustic treatment to cover the areas of first reflection (if possible) would be a good idea

Last edited:
Doesn't sound ideal - I think your best bet is to get some good open-backed headphones and use them to gain reference on the mix (and your room/space) and make adjustments as nessessary.