Help needed for begginer

shaunartis14

Hi guys i am completely new to music production . Producing music is something i really want to get into can anybody advise me on how to get started properly? Or a list of basic things i need to know to get myself started. My music theory knowledge is not very good but it is something i am willing to learn if it can enchance my music production skills.Thank you very much
Shaun Artis

Hey Shaun,

awesome that you want to get started! I will provide you with some important buzz words that will help you with your research. (it is to complicated to put down everything important about starting)

If you want to begin producing, you will at least need a computer & a DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) - in other words "a software where you produce your music in". I recommend you try to get a demo first to play around a bit and see you really like it, before purchasing really expensive software. Reading the Manual and watching tutorials on youtube will get you started. The DAWs differ in workflow and built-in sounds and effects. It comes down to personal taste, but the most common used DAWs are ProTools (standard in professional music making), Ableton, Logic, Reason, FL Studio. Just check them out. Some are available in Demo version, some as Light Versions for cheap money. It also depends on which kind of music you want to produce, due to the different built in sounds and effects. Later you can add many new sounds and effects to every DAW as VST-Plugins or AU-Plugins. But every one of the listed DAWs can do that, so at last it doesn't really matter which one you use, except a few workflow differences and personal taste differences.