First setup. Going the controller route/ Numark Mixtrack Pro vs. Normal mixtrack?

C

Chi

Hi everybody,

so I'm a producer by trade and I'm mainly software based. A couple months ago I had my first DJ gig using my friends equipment (as a fill in) and I really liked the whole feeling of gigging so I want to get into DJ'ing more. Now I'm not trying to go the hugely expensive route. Preferably I want to go with just a controller, not actual turntables b/c I recently got a new laptop that can run the likes of Serato, Traktor, etc.

So I was looking and I came down to, just from looking, the Numarks Mixtrack and Mixtrack Pro. They both look like nice pieces and I read up on them. I know the Mixtrack Pro has the actual audio I/O but I was wondering if thats actually needed considering the equipment I already have from my production game. Let me list that to give you all a better picture.

Laptop: Acer Aspire i5 processor with 4 GB of RAM and 500 GB HDD.
A pair of Yamaha HS50m's
An M Audio fast track USB mkII.
Also software such as Reason 4, FL studio, and Pro Tools M Powered essentials.

I mainly want to do Hip Hop and Techno/Electronic music and yes I do want to do alot of mixing and scratching. Starting off I'm solely getting the controller to run the software off of my laptop. I will in the future get actual DJ speakers and I was wondering if in the future I can run that either into the controller I get, the Fast Track interface I have, or straight into the computer? Also I'm pretty positive but the Audio I/Os on the Mixtrack Pro are almost redundant to me considering I can just run a standard microphone into my fast track and have people speak in a mic through there?

Sorry I have so many questions, let me just break down my questions to you again to review.