Electronic drums

[Shizo]

Any experienced drummers out there?

I want to buy a set of electronic drums this year.

Just looking for something GOOD and not too professional (and therefore expensive). Hopefully with drum positioning close to a standard set, good sensitivity and 2-3 cymbals.

What would you recommend me?

I'm not that experienced and as such I've only come across the usual Yamaha style models, I haven't seen one with a hi-hat foot pedal but I have seen ones with double-kicks. My friend has one with loads of great 'world' sounds, china cymbals and all that, I think it was reasonably priced.

Best thing to do is try them out, I know that sounds rudimentary.

I think the Alesis stuff is pretty nice. I think theyre biggest kit is about 1000 and comes with some nice cymbals too.

Yes the roland kits seem to have the edge in terms of feel , my cousin has one of these sets .
The thing I found is the drums sound pretty good , but I didn't like the cybmal/hihat sounds .

I don't think you'll be using the 'sounds' from the electronic brain much. The software is so good now you'll want to use it as a trigger only. maybe...maybe not....

I got the Alesis USB Pro Kit and I'm learning a bit more about why the Roland stuff is so damned expensive. The Roland sensitivity seems to be better applied in the programming to adding variance to the triggering. I like my kit but I can see where Roland stuff is a step up.

Storm:

Drum samples seem to have been progressing like this:

1. One sample - velocity controls volume
2. Multi-samples - velocity controls what sample will be played, with one sample per velocity level
3. Humanization - sounds different with every hit, multiple samples per velocity level

Most electronic kits are at level 2 now. Software is at 3.

But I have a question for you. Does your Alesis kit allow you to upload your own drum samples? That's what they promise for DM10 but not for Roland (unless you buy the top off the line kit).