Ear Training Techniques for a newbie!

UGDon

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to all things audio and realised recently that dedicated ear/frequency training will be beneficial in trying to pick out particular frequencies in dense mixes and much more.

So far I've been using a website called Sound Gym for about half an hour everyday to practice recognising boosted frequencies, identifying the position of sounds in the stereo field and recognising dB level changes.

However, since I'm only using the free version the range of songs/instruments is rather limited meaning there is the risk of me becoming overly familiar with the tracks as opposed to broadening my ability to apply the techniques to other material.

I was wondering if any of you had any suggestions for excersises I could do with my DAW and songs dragged from my hard drive (especially related to recognising EQ and compression)??

I would also be intrigued to hear of your ear training regime!

I'd appreciate any sort of help.

Hi All,
I'm pretty new to all things audio and realised recently that dedicated ear/frequency training will be beneficial in trying to pick out particular frequencies in dense mixes and much more.
So far I've been using a website called Sound Gym for about half an hour everyday to practice recognising boosted frequencies, identifying the position of sounds in the stereo field and recognising dB level changes.
However, since I'm only using the free version the range of songs/instruments is rather limited meaning there is the risk of me becoming overly familiar with the tracks as opposed to broadening my ability to apply the techniques to other material.
I was wondering if any of you had any suggestions for excersises I could do with my DAW and songs dragged from my hard drive (especially related to recognising EQ and compression)??
I would also be intrigued to hear of your ear training regime!
I'd appreciate any sort of help.