Each track sounds like if it was in a different enviroment (Help)

Andrelo

Hello Everyone, I have been making beats for like 3 months and I use Ableton and Maschine. I Like that stuff that I make with the virtual instruments, loops, Native Instruments plugins etc, but when I put them all together to make one instrumental, it sounds so different, like if every instrument was in a different environment. Since I use Ableton, I usually add some audio effects to each track(Mostly reverb), but that's it..

Can someone tell what is what I need to make a beat sound clean and smooth, getting the feeling that all tracks/instruments are in the same environment?

Being able to choose the right sounds and mix and match them is (at least for me) something that you never really stop learning how to do. It's gonna come more naturally the more time you spend with it.

In the meantime it could be worth considering that reverb is pretty much adding the sound of different rooms/environments/spaces to your tracks, and if you have a bunch of different reverbs on them you get sounds that are in different spaces.

Adding the same reverb to several tracks of similar type or what ever can make things more cohesive, coming from the same room.

@so you think is better if I put the efffects(reverb) on the master track instead of putting one audio effect in each instrument track?

@so you think is better if I put the efffects(reverb) on the master track instead of putting one audio effect in each instrument track?

No, don't do that either. You don't want the entire song to swim in reverb.

But also, unless you have a good reason, don't put the reverb on the track itself. That muddies it and makes it sound less distinct. No reverb makes an instrument sound like it has no environment, reverb on the instrument itself makes it sound far away in a big room, and reverb on a send from the instrument makes it sound close in a big room. This last one is preferred.