Beginning producer in need of some advice

timothy9090

Dear people,

My name is Timothy, and I'm about to get started in music production. My goal is to make electro/house/ some Drum and Bass. I already have an iMac that has been running Mozilla Firefox and Microsoft Word for the last 2 years, so I'm eager to start using it the way it was intended. The next big step would be all the other things. Fortunately I have been playing music in bands for many years (I play the guitar and a bit of piano), so I'm very sure I want to do this (and needless to say I know my way around a scale). I've decided to initially invest about 1200-1500 euros in gear (soft and hardware), and would like to find out what some of you think about this setup I have in mind so far. Here goes:

Ableton Live with Push
From what I've read so far it seems that most electro/house producers seem to use either FL or Ableton. Given that I have a Mac, and FL apparently doesn't work with Mac, this made my choice a little easier. I have worked with both programs before, but never sufficiently in depth to really be able to tell the big pros and cons of either one. I also want to use the Push with my band in live performances to give the music an extra electronic dimension, so it would seem that Ableton with their Push should be a pretty decent choice.

KRK Rokit monitors
Since I obviously don't have a huge budget I figured these monitors should be a good place to start. I learned from reviews that 2 of these are supposed to be sufficient to start mixing, without any immediate need for an additional subwoofer.

VSTs