Beginner Question: Ableton Live 9

djcoolmike

This is a very newbie question, but I am new to production. This is the scenario. I was trying to do a remix. Most of the sound packs I was using was in my downloads folder. I accidentally erased the contents of the folder and I didn't save all files. My question is how and/or where is the best place to save sounds and all of the plugins and such that I will use? Are there any settings that I should alter? Is it better to use an external hard drive? Please help. I would rather set everything up now in the beginning so I won't lose anything else as I get better.

This is a very newbie question, but I am new to production. This is the scenario. I was trying to do a remix. Most of the sound packs I was using was in my downloads folder. I accidentally erased the contents of the folder and I didn't save all files. My question is how and/or where is the best place to save sounds and all of the plugins and such that I will use? Are there any settings that I should alter? Is it better to use an external hard drive? Please help. I would rather set everything up now in the beginning so I won't lose anything else as I get better.

I don't know how it's done in Ableton, but these are some tips you could use in general.

I keep all of my samples on a separate internal hard drive from my OS and applications. When I'm done with a project I create a zipped loop package in FL Studio that compiles all of the used samples into a folder along with the project itself. Depending on how I feel I'll also create a text file or use FL's Project Info section to list all of the plugins, libraries, and presets I used just incase I delete something I used in a project that I'd like to go back to, only to find out I deleted a plugin or library. I can simply revert to the text file or project info and I'll know what I'm missing. It sounds good written out but it takes a few moments of your time, just like organizing your project, it's up to you.