Akai MPK49 with Cubase 5

F

.~:F8:~.

I am concidering buying the Akai MPK49 and cubase 5 for my homestudio setup.

I have read that people have had problems using the mpk49 on older versions of cubase, and that a lot of the mpk functions didn`t work properly on cubase.
(with functions I mean the arpeggiator, the transport buttons, play,rec fast.f, etc.)

Anyone have any experience with this?

I really want a good midi-keyboard and the mpc pads for my setup, I have also concidered buying the mpd32 an a novation sl37 remote with cubase 5.

Would this work better?

(I have been looking at different software and found the cubase 5 "platform" to be my favorite )

I am new to the computer-music game, so I hope somebody could help me.

Thanks for any help...

Try to look for a xml file from AKAI that will auto map your midi controller in cubase. It can be an older version as well but you should have the needed files in the CD that came with the controller.

Here are the instructions:

( http://forum.cubase.net/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?p=740936&sid=87d039df406f0d0d727dd7e2396fff72 )

TO automate your MPK in cuebase do this :

1) go to (on the menu in Cuebase) DEVICES > DEVICE SETUP
2) Click on the Remote Devices Folder then click on the plus symbol on the top let hand corner to create a new Generic Remote
3)Click on “Import” in the right side of the generic remote window
4)Select the “Cubase”.html preset on the MPK disc …. yer not done yet
5)Change the midi channel on “stop, rec, play, rw, ff” from channel 2 to channel one.

Can't find my AKAI CD anywhere and there's no way of downloading anything remotely useful from their website. Can anyone PLEASE let me have a copy of their Cubase MPK49 setup files. (Cubase.html or MPK49.xml)

I'd be much obliged! Email address is pete(at)dcf.dj