Compressors and Gates

n3utrino

Can anyone lend good explanations/definitions of gates and compressors? Most folks I have run into just tell me "fiddle with the knobs until everything sounds right." What are they actually doing to the audio signal?

:cheers:

A compressor is used to alter the dynamic range of an audio signal. The dynamic range is the range of intensity of the signal. The traditional role of a compressor is tolessen the gap between the loudest signal and the softest signal. Basically this beefs up the sound and makes it sound more punchy and stuff, depending on the attack and release settings. A common use of compression is to make a vocal track uniform in intensity. Make sense?

Last edited:
Your compressor definition works very well for me. It makes total sense too. "Compressing" -- basically squashing the audio signal. Very cool.

Any thoughts on gates?

Thanks for the input, BTW.

I could be wrong, because I'm new to producing, but I think a gate rejects any signals under a preset level, to prevent unwanted "ambient" or other lower-volume sounds from being recorded.

Sonic thats a good defenition for gates....
Basically expander/gates cut of the signal when it falls below the set threshold , commonly used for drum kits to cut back on noise and ****....You can also use them for ducking for like voiceovers...They got key inputs so that signals going into the inputs will control when the gates kick in

I was totally lost with compressors, until an engineer friend pointed me in the right direction.
The simplest way to use a compressor, is by adjusting the basic controls in a certain order.
The basic controlsbeing ATTACK, RELEASE, RATIO, THRESHOLD. This is the best order to adjust them in.