Sampling tempo

yo whats up, i've been sampling for about a month now (been producing for 2 months all together), the problem i always seem to get when i sample is getting the sample tempo to match the drums, i always have to pitch the sample up or down just to make it fit in, i usually chop my samples up in 1/4 or 1/8 and lay the sample down with the metronome tempo, but yet the tempo still doesn't match the drums, like i said, i always seem to have to pitch the sample up if i cut it up in 1/8 then when i chop it up in 1/4 i always have to pitch it down, so then sometimes i try upping the tempo and when it fits, the tempo is to fast its at like 110 bpm (which is the normal tempo of the sample), if you check out my latest beat on sound cloud its called "lewisclaresbeats - Past Memories - 2pac Style Beat" (it won't let me post the link)
i'm pretty new to sampling so don't judge me, Thanks!

Every measure within a certain BPM will have a set length, for example a 1 bar sample at 110 BPM will be exactly 2.181 seconds long and if you attempt to shoehorn that sample into a length determined by a different tempo like say 2.222 seconds at 108 BPM it will fit, however the divisions within that 110 BPM bar will not line up with the divisions of the bar at 108 BPM and towards the end of the sample there will be a slight skewing and the last 1/4 will be off by something like 0.041 as opposed to the first 1/4 that should only be out by 0.010 or some shit, in other words the problem compounds towards the end of the sample.

Chopping samples shorter will make accuracy in relation to tempos and lengths less important but as the difference between one tempo and another widens so too does the effect of skewing, it's not all bad though because sometimes a slight skewing can actually sound good, but because most people like to skip learning how to make proper loops they tend to rely on flukes rather than knowing how to make shit work in relation to tempo and length.

Last edited: