Where am I going wrong?!!!

CutFade

So I have been making beats for about 4 years on and off. Now I just recently started recording music for friends and these are the tracks I've done with them so far. I can't seem to get my mixes really remotely enjoyable! i can go over my process if needed, but I was hoping you might be able to listen to a sample and give me some advice on where I am going wrong.

'

After listening through a bit, I'd say the biggest issue is the vocals (the beats are dope). The sound quality is poor and distorting/clipping at times (are you recording with the mic/interface turned up too loud?). Try having the rapper double up on certain rhyming phrases to give it extra presence. Once you get good clear takes, compress the vocals fairly heavily. After that, go easy on the limiting (or whatever it is you're doing) on the master track. It's good to have an "in your face" mix but if it's overdone the dynamics end up being squashed and distorted.

In conclusion... make the vocals extra punchy, but keep the mix smooth.

Hope that's helpful and not off target of what you're asking for...

Thanks for replying man it means a lot. i do think I have the vocals clipping a bit on the preamp. The master track I have izotope and I'm slamming it pretty hard. The vocals I have compressed as much as I could get them and EQ'd the mids around 500 down and upped the highs around 10K. I'll try and see what I can do about the clipping and add some overdubs for emphasis. I'll definitely tone down the in your face master slam too.