Some advice from a pro

DarkRed

Ok, this thread was created purely to help engineers to suffer less with their mixing and mastering. As a pro I read and see tons of stuff that is simply turning guys that are otherwise good engineers, into newbies. In this thread I will list some of the misconceptions I've noticed out there over the years, that simply make productions bad sounding.

- Volume faders are no EQs

The number one cause for bad sounding productions out there, is the volume fader. Some smart ass engineer out there thought that EQs cause phase, hence you should use the volume fader instead. That is the worst idea ever. A volume fader is a volume fader. An EQ is an EQ. In fact, you use the EQ so that you do not have to use the volume fader.

- Expanders are more important than compressors

Compressors have become the number one topic among engineers. But pros like me focus on something else. Expanders. And the difference: Compressors make mixes more dense which causes a more heavy listening experience. Expanders make mixes less dense, which causes a less heavy listening experience. Guess which one of those impacts win... You guessed it right!

- Volume faders are polarity balancers

Most non pro mixes I know have one thing in common: They do not improve over time. The main reason for this is that the polarities within the mix are left totally unbalanced.

- The left ear and the right ear are not the same

Because engineers assume that the left ear and the right ear are completely the same, what they do is to set the pan knobs of the tracks at a precise fixed position and leave it there. Pros know that the left ear and the right ear are not the same, hence they always automate the pan knobs.

- Dither the final print? Nope...

Dithering the final signal is like putting the death touch on the mix. Whoever invented the dither for printing the final master must have been evil.

- 1 print per playback format, not 1 print for all playback formats