Mixing with only ONE single instrumental track + Separate tracks for vocals?

DavidStarz

Hey there guys. First time poster here. I'm fairly new to mixing and have been reading a LOT as far EQs and all the tools for mixing. My goal is to be able to mix all of my music by myself, but I have a problem...I ALWAYS get the instrumentals for my songs in a single .wav file. I don't steal my beats or anything. When I get leases on them or have friends send them to me, they only send the single .wav file for the instrumental and can't send them diffused. What is the best way to have my vocals sit well in the mix when I only get a single instrumental track? EQ the instrumental in a specific way? Double it and slightly pan them left & right? When I get the instrumentals, they're already mixed down well (w/o my vocals on them at all). I have an example to show the best I was able to do recently as far as mixing for one of my songs on these instrumentals. It's not great, but please remember I'm new at mixing so any advice would be AMAZING. Please keep it in simple terms as well since I'm still learning :/ Thank you so much in advance!

Attachments

• Cross The Line (Updated).mp3
    4.3 MB · Views: 143
when i have to mix with one WAV. file i usually eq the beat (WAV. file) . First i cut out the low end with the eq. depending how muddy the lows are i will cut up to 40-50 hz and this will clean up some of the bass (because most of the time when people send you the beat as one WAV. track they have added some compression to the master channel and that causes the lows to become real present).. Next i will cut a little about 1-2db out of the beat where i put my vocals . EX:( i usually boost my vocals around the 5khz and or 8-10khz with a eq. So say i'm going to boost my vocals about 3db at 5khz then i will cut that same part out of the beat at 5khz about 2db. this makes room for the vocals to sit). That is how i manage to make my vocals sit some what good..