Mastering ? How to Smooth out a track

philosophygt

Ok I am very new to Mixing Recording and Mastering. I think I am getting very good sound, I use exciters and compressers- hopefully the right way. But the problem is that the final mix sounds almost too clear and fresh, I listen to other hip hop=old school stuff and they have a smooth easy listening sound to there songs and mine is like almost too noisy or clean if this makes sense. I have no Idea if im even close but I was thinking tape saturation for some analog distortion would be my answer or if you have any other suggestions that would be good.
And If saturation is what I need then do I put it on each track or on final mixdown? This is my myspace page with all my music , well my first CD Im finishing if you would listen to it and maybe suggest what I need to do Id be one happy dude. Address is myspace.com/philosophygt
thanks guys. Philosophy.

maybe try a PSP Vintage Warmer or Waves L3 Multimaximizer,however if using the Waves L3 make sure to use it last,i believe you can try out the trial version of Waves L3 for 14 days,i hope this helps.

you are right sleepy,i overlooked that part mentioned about exciters,just be adding more to it,maybe to the point of clipping.

I would go as far as not using them at all. Especially because they're directly responsible for giving you the sound that you don't want. As far as getting some of that vintage sound, a lot of those guys used samples out of records. So if you're playing a part with a virtual instrument that typically came from a record samples, there's going to be a huge difference as far as the sound you're getting. I would play around with the eq, but first, I would use sounds that are more like whatever was used by the people you want to emulate.

Again, OP is referring to 'mastering' instead of mixing - mastering won't fix that...or it will to the certain degree