just tried my stuff on a diffrent system

L

Lil Loco

hey FP.
ive just burned some of my trackz to CD and put them in my system i use in my bedroom.
(hope i explain this clear enough)
but it doesnt sound clear if u get me, sound slighly muffled....
when i mix with my headphones on it sounds fine.
but when its on the other system it dont.

what can i do to get around this problem?

any advice would be great.

Thankz

Lil Loco

on second look at it, i think im looking for that prof. sound (stero sound)
but that mite be something completly diffrent.

im new to the game of mixing. :)

wow. . .
now i know where i am goin wrong. lol.
one i need to get me some monitors.
and i now have a better idea of how to use panning, EQ, Fader Level to make my stuff sound alot better. lol

thankz, its helped loads.

also i use a laptop (im a broke ass student). does it make a huge diffrence i dnt have a good sound card (i think it prob does). and what external sound cards are there for me to use, that are not to expensive?

thankz again.

LL

Yes, soundcards make a big difference in sound (even potential performance gain). Also, even sound drivers make a difference. This is the main reason it would sound different on separate systems.

M-Audio Audiophile usb or firewire are options. There are a couple other decent ones for a tight budget.

Keep in mind though, you can make great mixes on a crappy laptop soundcard, I've heard it been done enough times to say this with confidence. It's all a matter of knowing your system, and it's flaws. Basically it just comes down to skill.
That said, of course a good soundcard and good audiodrivers will improve the quality of your mixes. But it can be worked around, if you're good enough.

Monitors can fool the crap out of you too...

I dumped a mix that sounded very full and cohesive out of PT... loaded in WMP to play thru my 2.1 systems... lol...