Improving Muddy Recordings???

• Thread starter mantleproduction
  • Start date
M

mantleproduction

This may be a simple question:

Why do most home studio producers? recordings turn out so muddy and dull? I am a recording engineer for audiobooks and spoken material, but eventually want to record a CD with some musician friends of mine.

How have you improved your sound? As a musician and recording engineer, how can I record my band's own demo CD at home with Cubase (8 tracks), condenser mics, and a completely sound-proof room, and not make the same mistake that many home studio producers have done? I?m hoping to go for pop/soft rock sound.

crap in = crap out ...

you can fix a lot of things but its better to modify sounds and get them happening before you start recording, easier said than done I know, but use your ears and common sense, for example a dull snare with 10 db's of hi end boost sounds just like that ; a dull snare with hi end boost, move the mics until you hear what you want and then start recording...

absolutely, substractive eq is the key but try using that apprach during the mixing stage, not at the recording stage...

Also bear in mind that frequencies get eaten up by other instruments when mixed together - so compensate for that when eq'ing an instrument in isolation.

In addition, there is no substitute for good mics - I've just bought a pair of GT55 condensers and it's a dramatic improvement over the NT1s I was using for drum overheads.

Lastly, with cheap eqs (inc most budget mixer eq and software eq), subtractive eq is the only way to go - aggressive boosting only works/sound good with quality outboard eqs.

:monkey:

As above - NEVER assume that you can 'fix it in the mix'!

The mastering process generally 'enhances' on the quality of the original recording hence if the original recording is pants, when it gets to the mastering stage, there is less to work with.