Getting that loud sound with workflow

Finishing Move

Hi everyone, I've been producing remixes for some time, but I'm a complete amateur in reality. Mostly I'm happy with my productions but I always seem to lack the loudness. Others seem to acheive beautiful clarity and peak volumes. Or perhaps it's in my head... either way, I think my issues are in work flow...

In a nutshell:
1) mix the track together with a little compression and EQ
2) bounce the each track to wav
3) limit the track on the master bus
4) heavier multi band compression on the master bus

My setup I consider to be poor, completely software driven with no dedicated sound card or hardware.

Please share your workflows, tricks and tips. Any defo wins/fails
Thanks

Obtaining loudness isn't really a work flow issue. It has to do with dynamics and frequency balance. Obtaining loudness starts with how you mix your arrangements and can be refined with compression while mastering.

My suggestion would be to use a reference track when trying achieve a certain level of loudness. Having that can give you immediate feedback on anything lacking or overdone in a mix or master. You will also learn a ton once you work through issues that pop up while trying to achieve what the engineer of the reference did.

My quick tip is that I do not increase the output of anything I'm mastering to -.5 or 0 dB until I am satisfied with how it sounds at the level the original mix was at. We tend to perceive louder things as sounding better, so I keep the audio at the original loudness to avoid that bias.

Thanks for the feedback. Yeah my mix seems always bass heavy, maybe that's stealing all the headroom. If I decrease these bass frequencies, I end up with a weak sound.

Before I add any volume, my tracks about around -12db. Using various saturation, compressors and limiters I get the volume to peak at 0db.