Drums first or second?

Hairfarm

Greetings,

First post.

I have a very basic question. I'm new at recording, and can't really find the correct order for recording my tracks.

I have a Korg Padkontrol (a 16 pad midi triggering device) for recording drums and percussion. That way I have more options to create my own drum trascks rather than relying on pre-made drum loops and percussion loops. I also use and electric guitar and bass that I play direct-in.

When I record, I'm confused about whether I need to record percussion first or last. In other words, don't I need a beat to record my guitar and bass to. On the other hand, if I record the percussion track's first, how do I record the tracks with out getting "lost". I'm thinking I need the guitar and bass track to help guide my percussion recording. Which is the right way? I can't play all tracks at one time, I'm just one person. But what works for some of you? Drum track first, then other instruments, or instruments first, then drums? What about the Metronome?

Hope that makes sense.

its all pref. if you want to do the drums first go ahead then add a new track for guitar. if you want to go the other way and record your bass or guitar first go ahead but play with a click so when you go back to do the drums it will be synced

The order doesn't matter, just go with whatever your are comfortable with, personally I do all my melody's and details first, then I wrap the drums/percussion around it. so basically you need a reference point right? If I were you I would find the tap tempo button, from there you can visualize the song at whatever the speed is then build from there. eg. like playing your guitar first to the tap tempo, then recording using tap as reference. hope this helps.