Bass in vocal help?

Dr3amz

I realize that sometimes when I'm recording my vocals on a song, my vocals tend to have this real bass distortion kind of sound on my speakers. I normally dont cut off bass in my vocals when I EQ...im not a mixing pro or anything but I learn along the way...Do I have to cut off the bass in my vocals so it can mix better within the instrumental?

YES!!! Unless you're recording in a completely sound proof booth and have a pre- amp w/ low cutoff filter. U should always eq your vocals in the mixdown.

Try using a high-pass filter around 80 hz. Sometimes I use a high pass filter around 90-100 hz for a chorus or for female vocals.

Thanks alot guys, this information really helped me, also is there any particular vst plugins one may recommend?

Last edited:
Before doing anything to your vocals, identify where the distortion is coming from.

It can be the recording, but it can be either the gear when recording or during playback.

Eliminate the speakers first. Use headphones and listen with the headphones. If your interface or computer souncard has a headphone output, listen through it directly. If it's still there, then it's likely during recording. If you don't hear it, then you may just be overdriving the speakers so you don't really need to do anything other than get a better monitoring system that will handle what you want.

The next thing you can do is watch your distance from the mic when recording. The closer you get, the more bass that the microphone will capture. Also, a microphone that is not so good will itself distort when it can't handle the sound levels from your actual voice. Also, make sure that your gain on the pre amp is not too high. So you need to make sure each little thing in the chain is being used properly. Using a pop filter will help also. Ideally, you want to be 6-10inches from the mic but it depends on your voice and the mic.