Audio output or Volume

XUnseenX

im fairly new to pro tools and am having difficulty with the sound quality or output when i bounce to disk. when i listen through the mbox sound card everything is loud and punchy, but when i bounce or export (then listening on my desktop) the sound quality is compromised and isnt nearly as clear lacking a lot of velocity. all my wave forms peak just at the top and bottom of the controller lane as to not clip. all my channel faders peak at green, maybe touching yellow on certain hits.

is this just the nature of home producing/recording, or am i missing something? any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. good looking out.

Sounds like you're recording and mixing at a decent volume - I wouldn't change that. When you bounce to disk, you should have an accurate representation of your mix, provided you're exporting to a high-quality format. However, a typical mix has a lot more headroom than a finished mix with pre-mastering processing applied, so you won't be able to play it side-by-side with a song you bought, for example. That could be part of the issue. Or it could also be something with your signal chain on your desktop - does other music sound alright on it?