ALL About Kick and Bass by YOU!

RyanMRDJ

Good Day all

I am starting this thread which I think A LOT of people struggle or just don't understand. KICK AND BASS.

The thing is just now all genres are different and all genres kicks and bass is different. I have experimented with it once... I have taken the same low end kick high end kick tricked the EQ and I made about 3 different genres of kicks.

I would like you to reply giving your idea of a good kick and bass which in your genre sounds good. the main idea behind it all is, you get a progressive house producer which creates his kick and bass in this way for the past 3 - 4 years and then a big room producer say how he produces kick and bass... you might try it in your progressive house song and vise versa ever thought that it might sound better? :bigeyes: :berzerk:

PLEASE NO LINKS TO SOUNDS!!! just normal reply by words...
Give your thoughts...

FYI I am not a professional producer just been so long in this hobby.

RyanMRDJ Bedroom Producer since '98

Last edited:
This is a good idea for a thread seeing as it's one of the more frequent problems in amateur mixes/productions. While I think there is value in discussing how to MAKE a good kick, IMHO I believe that many producers have such a wealth of samples that it becomes more appropriate to discuss how to choose the right combination of kick and bass.

Genre will have a big impact on what type of kick to choose - hip hop and big room house won't often share the same low end principles. So my first advice would be to listen to some commercial/professional productions in your preferred genre and dissect what types of sounds are used for kick/bass. How much attack/high freq does the kick have? How much "edge & bite," vs "how warm and round" is the kick? How long is the tail? These considerations are often the most important in choosing an appropriate sample.