jamming on the keyboard - techniques

N

nandaiyo

Hey folks,

I'm an aspiring pianist/keyboardist who is trying to play at a level where I can take any melody and chord progression/chart and just jam.

Right now I am at a very basic level - my left hand plays octaves and the occasional arpeggio using the middle fifth. My right hand plays a melody line and some harmony too when appropriate. This was great and all when I was younger, but now I really want to fill my playing with transitions, fills, and rhythm riffs. I understand that every style is different (jazz, pop, rock, etc) but in each of these styles there are abilities and techniques that I am pursuing and would love to hear what you have to say about it.

Some artists that I admire for their piano abilities are Tori Amos, Elton John, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Billy Joel, just to name a few. I would love it if those of you who play piano (either for your own music or for a band) and can jam, would share some techniques to adding color and style to the playing.

Thanks! :D

It really helps to develop an ear for changes and progressions first. Once you learn to play by ear (or trial and error), the motions will become more natural. You can just be expecting to start playing chords and a melody and most people aren't going to tell you what key they are playing in, so work on your ears before you play.

Thanks Shaq,

I totally agree! Being able to play by ear allows you "freedom" on the keyboard in that you become familiar and comfortable with the different key ranges and chords. In a sense it quickens and builds the relationship between hearing it in your head, and playing it with your fingers.

Right now I am practicing the C modal, which is easier because they are mostly white keys. I can't wait to be comfortable in any range on the keyboard, but till then it's practice, practice practice....

i definetly aggree that developing an ear is the most important step.