Reason Demo - I get "skipping"

FlyJ

I'm just getting started setting up a virtual home studio and have been running the demo of Reason. I'm totally impressed with the product but right now I get skipping (like a record or CD making a one-skip jump a couple seconds before or later). This happens whenever I open up a menu (like choosing a different drum patch) or sometimes when simply scrolling through the modules. Here's my setup...

P3-733mhz, 256mb PC133 ram, Windows 2000, and of course the worst part of it all...an SB Live! audio card with the latest drivers for everything.

In trying to figure out the problem, I noticed that the CPU usage runs constantly at about 20-25%, but will spike to 100% for a split second and cause the skip (or perhaps the other way around?). Could it simply be the sound card/drivers? I'm considering the M-Audio Audiophile 2496 card, but I'd hate to invest in a new audio card if this skipping problem has nothing to do with it, especially since I intend to do all my recording right now in the software environment. Lastly...what about it just being the demo copy of Reason having a little bug in it? Since it happens consistently when I right-click on the Subtractor Patch, it seems connected to the software and not the hardware. Anyone have this problem with the full or demo copy? If you have it could you try it and see what happens?

Thanks!!!

its the audio settings... tweak your latency slider... if you set the latency too short for your hardware, it will cause glitches.

Try to go with ASIO drivers too

good luck

Thanks for the help! I didn't pay enough attention to the latency adjustment earlier because it didn't seem to change anything. As I played more with it, I found that I have to crank up the latency past 150ms with my current drivers to get mostly clean sound.