Pro Tools Volume Issue!!!

L

LAProDuctions

I have been using Pro-Tools for about 7 months now. Recently I started mixing down (bouncing) my finished tracks. I noticed that the volume of the bounced track is significantly lower than my other tracks(made with just FL).

I have tried a number of limiters and gates etc. and I still can't achieve the levels that I get comming straight out of FL(using the same exact plugins). I got Pro Tools so I can mix my FL made beats and make them sound better and more professional, but after importing them into Pro Tools they sound thinner, less life like, and distant.

Any advice??????????

sounds wierd... Is the meter the same? theres something in the settings that allows you to run a session at +6 DB rather than 0 DB. dont know if that helps. You may also want to look into "pre-fader metering" if youre judging it by the meter. prefader metering will show you the volume of the audio files before they go through the effects. other than that make sure you have it all turned up.

pt won't make it sound anymore professional. you'll have to familiarize yourself with pt to get the best out of it. including the settings and find out if the exact same settings in one app will be the same in another (no idea but i doubt it, this doesn't mean one will sound better or is better, just that there's a difference in how they handle an insert, but again i don't know and try not to get into those convo's as they get boring with all this null this, floating point that) and adjust accordingly

word of advice, i don't know the metering of fl but pt metering is inadequate and suspect, third party metering would serve you better, but that's in regard to metering. another thing, many, including myself, prefer to first render the mix within pt via aux/bus routing then export (i think shift control k, can't remember) due to the unreliable bouncing in pt (not much of an issue as previously) and to avoid a real time bounce.

7thangel said: