What hard synth do you swear by???

P

pipEr

Hey guys, really enjoying the forum (my 1st day on it!)

I'm getting started in electronic music, and 1st on my list is a good synth. I'm into Moby, Groove Armada, Avalanches...etc.....NOT crystal method, Uberzone, harder pounding techno. I want something with great sounding pianos, strings, stuff that sounds REAL.

Not sure if I should go analog or digital...what do you think for the sounds I'm after.

I'm looking for a USED SYNTH, so which one(s) do you think would suit my tastes best? I read where Moby uses the Yamaha SY-22 on Porcelain, which I love both the piano and strings on, so naturally I started looking for those. Is there a better one for my tastes?

I'm a beginner, but I know music, and I know buying **** just to have isn''t the way to go...so I'm looking for quality here.

Thanks a ton....piper

Well you want digital not analog. You want real sounding stuff. Things up your alley would include

EMU Proteus 2000
Korg Trinity / Triton/ Triton Studio
Yamaha Motif / EX5
Roland JV Series and XV series

I can recommend the Triton Rack as I own one. It's I N T E N S E!!!!

you should have a look on www.vintagesynth.org it has loads of info on loads of equipment along with samples and list of who uses them. you should be able to pick up a yamaha dx7 used for a nice price. its a pain to program at first but there are loads of patches and pc editors on the web for it. it sounds rich and can do everything from realistic to weird due to its very versatile and compex synth architecture. the nord lead is also heavily used and a great synth too.
as for synths i swear by, none of them would be suitable for your purposes i am afraid except the dx7 and perhaps the nord. the rest would be no use.
good luck though and welcome to the forum

oh yeah,
nord lead is made by clavia.