which synth to buy

phaez

i'm looking to get my first synth for as cheap as possible what synth you recommend to somone who wants to produce deep, organic, atmospheric, lush sounding beautiful chords, pad sounds > tech house ?

i don't know much at all about synths, i just know what sort of sounds i want to make. I've tried a couple of softsynths and i currently use fruityloops but find it hard to produce these nice deep lush sounds, i just keep getting lame chessy over the top sounds..
i'm just a student with a very limited income so i don't have the luxury of buying heaps of different synths
this synth will be it for a while! so i want to make sure it's decent and can make the sounds i want.....

suggestions? :hello:

If you can afford it: Virus
1) Virus has the most VA features
2) Virus sounds awesome
3) Virus has lots of good factory presets, and lots of presets downloadable from the web; as I suppose you have no experience already with sound creating/modelling

Other great synthz for soft pads with different caracter (you can find soundsamples on the manufacturers homepages or at www.vintagesynth.com) that doesn't cost as much as the Virus (wich is one of the kings among synthezisers)

Ensoniq Fizmo - Very strange pads ;) THE synth for ambient! Some new kind of synthesis that i think is something between virtual analog and vector syn.
Korg Wavestation - Very soft pads.. i really like this one =) They sound pretty cold.. and not so phAT-analog. Vector syn.
Korg MS2000 - Here we got the phAT-analog pad.. check it out ;) Virtual analog
Clavia Nord Lead - This one can produce very lush pads.. and they sound really analog.. but not so extreamly fat. Virtual analog
Clavia Micro Modular - almost the same as with clavia nord lead.. but you can make it sound more fat ;) (do not touch this one if your not interrested in advanced sound creating). Virtual analog