Help with Micro Q vocoder

guru20

Hello all... I'm new to this site... looked around a bit when I was trying to choose my VA synth (considered Micron, microKorg, and K-Station... ended up with a Waldorf Micro-Q rack run through Oxygen 8 - go figure!)

anyway, I'm new to synth vocoders in general, but also I cannot for the life of me get a single sound through my 25-band vocoder in the MicroQ... has anybody used the Q vocoder and could give me some advice??

Do I need a pre-amp for my mic? (right now I am running mic straight in...) Or will it take direct condenser mic input? I'm really confused... in the manual, it talks about various vocoder effect parameters you can set... but I can't even find how to access these through the panel/OS!

If anyone could get me started with this (even just to play with a pre-set vocoder sound that comes with the Micro-Q) I would be very grateful!! It's the last small piece of my studio setup that I have finally completed...

Thanks!

-- Matt

The mQ (and Q) is one of the most powerful and flexible VA synths! you will not regret it.

Programming on the rack can be a little frustrating (specially if you want to use the modulation matrix), but fortunately there are some excellent Pc Editors! I use mQ Knobs Pro and mQ Edit to program patches, and Universal Manager to load/manage my sounds.
check out this page (it's french, but all you have to do is click on the links to download :)
http://fr.audiofanzine.com/apprendre/faq_tips/index,idproduit,10255.html

to get your vocoder working you have to:
-connect the Oxygen 8 to Midi In and your your mic to Line In.
(if you use a condenser microphone, it needs to be phantom powered! so I suggest you use a dynamic mic, like SM58 or SM57.. or try a pc mic for now.)
I think a preamp would help you get a louder signal in, but you can get the vocoder working without one.

-Press Global, turn the red wheel to find Input Gain. Adjust value with left black knob to 4. (to boost it)