MPC 60 vs MPC 2000 XL

DaOriginalBlade

You're Forgiven
Ok, let me start off by saying I'm a hip hop producer new to sampling (funny sh!t huh?). But in turn I'm very interested to get even deeper into production starting with an MPC. I was gonna get the 2000XL.. then I hurd abuot the 60. I dunno if the price is different.. but i HURD the 60 is like for more grimey sounds. Thats kinda wat i'm lookin for.. dont get me wrong. I'm not on these cats level but my style is geared toward Dr Dre, Premo and Havoc, but I also like to pop off a little neptunes, kanye west like soul (not saying I jock all these people.. so dont turn this thread into 50 posts about get your own style.. i'm just naming the sounds and vibes i like from my fav producers!) every now and then. What are the differences between the 60 and the 2000XL and which one should i go with? Whats the difference between sequencers, sampling abilities, interface, etc etc. Thanks for all the help... PEACE-1!

The 2000XL wont give you that Neptunes sound, it gives you more of a muted sound, like what you hear in a lot of the dull underground hip hop records floating around. The 60 will give you crisper sound despite its 12-bit status. It only gets grainy on kicks (and its a good grainy), nothing that a little compression in ProTools or your tracker of choice cant solve. 60 is way more proffesional, both in feel and sound.

Trip on this link...

http://www.sospubs.co.uk/sos/apr00/articles/tracks.htm

2000 can be punchy if you know what your doing.
On it's own its very acurate.What you put is what you get out.
People say the 60 sounds like 2inch tape.wich is good.
Both have plus,and minus's just decide witch features you need most.
Make sure the 60 is in good shape if you go that routt.They are old.
With the 60 you wil need an outboard filter,since it has none.
If you want gritty drums,and have something else to sequence with you could always get a 12bit rack of your choice,and save a boatload.