Got Samplers?

E

endoraver

Ok, real basic question... I come from producing, but i don't see the need for samplers... Besides looping a loop (hehe!) why would u use such a machine... Everywhere i see people and adds mentionning the this is the king of sampling or sampling-based music... What's the point? Find your own bass drums and snares and make your own beats with a sequencer??? My main question though, is what is the deal with rackmount samplers like the Yamaha ones?

i am glad you've pointed this out.
I am a musician myself, and my background being classical piano, I am still wondering why people would loop things up.

so I agree with you, but ... but I can make a good point also, to make you love samplers as much as I do ;)

Now.. Im going to make a point that will make you want a sampler ;) i STILL dont like looping, but i love samplers.. why?

Because you can use a sampler without using loops. If you get a sampler, you can get CDROMs (akai, etc..) with wonderful KEY-MAPPED-INSTRUMENTS

What is it? basically you can use a sampler AND PLAY THE NOTE yourself.. and when you press a C# for example, with a mapped cello, you will hear a realistic cello playing C#

This concept turns the sampler into a really different machine if you ask me... I love beautiful voices.. well I got the collection called "Symphony of Voices" and I was able to play the most beautiful pads/voices of the planet, but I played the melodies myself! This is a good use of a sampler.

Basically you sequence it just as you are sequencing a synthesizer, but the sound's oscillator is a sample. dont mean this sample is a whole sog or a drumbeat... as explained above.

Hope you are following me here...