MPC 2000XL Help......Im Lost

Beatz R Us

Wuts good fam?......thought i would try to switch it up a bit.....i've been using software for about 6 years now, and i always wanted hardware....so i bought this MPC 2000XL & a Roland VS-880 from a friend.....But the thing is, The MPC doesn't have any sounds in it, floppy disks or anything.....I thought it at least came with some presets that i can f**k with.........So, my question is.......How do i get sounds on my MPC, or how can i transfer the files from my laptop to my MPC?....

*Jaws theme plays as dansgold approaches*

First of all, what kinda drive do you have? I'm guessing floppy drive?

Man, wish you would have inquired about this before buying the unit.

The problem is that you got a floppy drive and those are outdated. The MPC has tons and tons of drum programs for sale, but they come on CDs and Zip discs. I just did a search for sounds on floppy and I got absolutely no results.

Does your computer/laptop have a sound card? If so, I can send u links to some drum sounds which you can sample directly into your MPC. IT WOULD DO YOU A WORLD OF GOOD TO LEARN HOW TO MAKE PROGRAMS AND WHAT A PROGRAM EXACTLY IS.

And if you don't want to sample, then you have to now buy a zip 250MB drive which will read 100MB AND 250 MB discs. After you do that, the sky is the limit as far as preset sounds go. Because the MPC is possibly THE MOST popular sampling/sequencer of ALL TIME, there are tons of companiues offering sounds for it over the net.

What you are asking is a very broad question with a lot of answers. I have done my best, but if you are still unclear, let us know.

BTW, the ZIp drive will attatch to the SCSI port on the back of your 2000xl. It's not an internal drive. And don't buy a Jaz drive if you are looking to load preset sounds, because most places only make them available on Zip discs or cd roms.

Last edited: