Do you ever chop up a sample without knowing how your gonna flip it?

RobC

Alot of times I will hear a part of a song that I think sounds dope and I figure maybe I can mess with it. Even though I have no idea what I will do with it I still take the time to chop it up (and since Im new to the MPC it takes me a while maybe 10 - 20). And sometimes I cant get anything out of it, and I just wasted like 30 minutes for anything.

Do you guys ever do this, or does this ever happen to you? Should I not chop the sample up unless I have some idea of what to do?

yeah thats what i usually do. hear a nice sounding loop or some one shots and just chop them. then if i cant come up with anything within like 30 mins or something, i just come back to the chops in a day or two. i usually end up making a beat with all my chopped samples, but sometimes i dont ..

I have done it before, but i don't usually do it. if i do it it will most likely just be a one shot or something. it can be pretty difficult to blend the sounds if theyre in different keys etc.

I do this also... it's annoying sometimes. Very rarely I hear how the chops will play in my head. I just chop and play around until I find something I like and if I can't get anything I'll go try soething else for a while and come back to those another time.

I do this. When I have an idea of how I will flip it its usually a bit rough. Like, OK it'll sort of a down temp sad joint, or a fast one with intense drums etc... But alot of times I do what the sample wants. Sometimes I will be chopping something up getting certain sounds, then be like "oh ish, if I do (blank) like this it would be dope"