Bass drums for dance. Help please!! :-)

V

vagabond

I’m producing dance and I’m new to this. I was just wondering if anyone can help me with how you can create a bass drum that is very tight and none-muddy in the deep area but still has great presence and clear snap-sound. I hear that a lot of the bass drums on commercial tracks have this sound, and much of them sound very alike. It seems that it’s a fixed rule to get it fundamentally good sounding.

Does anyone have any advices or tips? :)

Well, the most obvious and easiest place to start is the classic 808/909 stuff - they provide a good base sound, to which you can add or take away a bit: layering a 909 kick with a highpass-filtered real/sampled kick (so the bass freqs don't muddy up each other) for added personal timbre has done the trick for me usually...

I'd suggest Stomper Hyperion 5, for custom kick drum sounds (I don't like sampled kicks, but sometimes it's very useful).

I've found the general kick drums length is about 250ms (at least for House) So, when I get a kick drum with a shorter duration, I put it trough the Gold Wave built in 'high pass' filter. This is a very strange filter: it increases the sample length when applied.

I cut everything below 40hz. Works very well, an the kick seems to fit the songs better.

vagabond said:
I’m producing dance and I’m new to this. I was just wondering if anyone can help me with how you can create a bass drum that is very tight and none-muddy in the deep area but still has great presence and clear snap-sound. I hear that a lot of the bass drums on commercial tracks have this sound, and much of them sound very alike. It seems that it’s a fixed rule to get it fundamentally good sounding.

Does anyone have any advices or tips? :)

Try to increase the freq's in the 20Hz area for deep punch and also increase in the 400Hz area. then reduce the freq's in the 50-60 Hz area, cause that's the muddy area.

Vic20

Vic20 said: