What new equipment cant I get to enhance my music from stock plugins?

crimsonhawk47

I've been doing music for about 3 years now, and I'm learning a lot about music theory and composition. However, sometimes I feel limited by the stock plugins of pro tools and logic (especially since most stock vst's are kind of pathetic). So what can I get to my records sound more real and appealing?

I was thinking of getting an mpc 3000, half for the convenience and half for the fact that it comes with a bunch of samples.

I don't want to get some custom compressor that costs 300 dollars because I think that's a waste of money for the tiniest change in your music.

What kind of music are you doing? "More real and appealing" is kind of, well, super vague without a point of reference.

Also what exactly are you finding that the stock plugins lack? Plenty of pro stuff have been mixed with that stuff - even #1 hits.

Hip hop. A lot of different styles except for trap. The stock plugins are hit and miss for me (especially the strings). I'd rather have more under my belt

Any you recommend for hip hop? I'm just trying to stand out because I'm noticing a lot of the people that sample vinyls produce similar sounding music. Usually major piano keys that are sampled for like one second and played several times every 4 bars

Any you recommend for hip hop? I'm just trying to stand out because I'm noticing a lot of the people that sample vinyls produce similar sounding music. Usually major piano keys that are sampled for like one second and played several times every 4 bars
In that case, why not learn to play the piano?

If you are going to buy VST's this is the best time of year to do so. A bunch of stuff is on sale during the period starting Thanksgiving and usually ending around the New Year. You missed the NI Thanksgiving sale (50% off pretty much everything) but there are still some good deals out there... Strike now while the iron is cheap!