Article: Will the iPad ever replace the MPC?

I believe the MPC will eventually get replaced, maybe not by an iPad though, because the limitations are abundant enough, both aesthetically, hardware wise, and it's much less of a sandbox than a regular MPC. The new line up of digital controller MPC's will do a number of the MPC market, once you digitize a external device, the sky's the limit as far as what you can do with it.

oh so true but if i had one i would know how to make it work without going to the exstreme!!! For now i am a producer/artist so i have to make my own music which helps my out in the end

I think the iPad version could replace the MPC500. I have an MPC1000 with a maxed out JJOS, and I just don't see how the iPad version can match it.

The other new MPC controllers look like they'd be good controllers and soundcards/etc. But, the whole appeal of an MPC for me is to not have a computer. I work on computers all day. I get computered out!

Never. MPC for me is all about the feel of the pads and unique timing. An Ipad will never duplicate that.

I would say that the mpc as we know it is at the end of its life. Maschine and mpc renaissance are the replacement. As for ipad, it is a different option for making music on the go but still limited. But it's just the beginning for Ipad type of devices. With better software and pro audio interfaces coming in to the market they will get better than an MPC . It's not even far fetch that the Ipad IOS and mac OSX will fuse in to One OS meaning that the same application will work on your desktop and ipad so you will be able to work on the go with an ipad and bring your project home and load it in your Mac in order to use more CPU hungry efx or plugins to fininsh your track. But the MPC is part of history now and it will still be a valuable machine in the future the same way as the SP1200 which is worth a fortune 2day.