Making 808s longer in FL Studio..?

Stevethaboss

Im trying to make more "boom bap" type sounds.. I didnt realize how much deep bass they have.. My problem is my 808s play for like a few seconds then fade out.. I want to be able to make them last like 5 seconds or longer.. How can I do this with FL? Please don't tell me like parallel compress the lows and 60 hz 70 dbs and shizz.. I'm a novice.. lol thanks though !

We'll, whatever the skill level, you're always welcomed here at FutureProducers. Personally, I don't really touch 808's too much but with some generic knowledge in how they work and are created I can only suggest that you make you own to your specific needs. Considering how 808's aren't something you could 'stretch' or duplicate without some muddy low end and an overall crappy 808 pattern, you're going to have to resort to making your own OR digging for new samples that fit your needs. It isn't hard at all and could be done in third party freeware such as Audacity. Literally all an 808 is, is an initial deep sine wave that usually has some sort of compression / distortion or EQ'ing done to increase volume and low end and more then usually faded out.

If you grab Audacity or already have it, you can start by finding "Generate" in the top column and select "Chirp" or "Chirp Generator" in the listing. Once you've got that open, usually anyone with common knowledge in producing could figure it all out but you being a novice, I'll throw you a few custom variables for you to mess around with and find what you like:

Screenshot_1.png