Little experience with beat making.. advice/help wanted

nylae

Okay, so I've just gotten a new Macbook pro & it came with garageband so immediately I messed around on it... on my old PC I had fl studios 10 (demo version)... I'm a beginner to music production & I honestly didn't know what I was doing on there but I conjured up some pretty decent sounds... my question for you all is how do I get better at beat making?? my soundcloud is Nylaevonn I have one beat on there & that was recorded & produced from my phone on an app called music maker jam(android) ...Also if any of you know any good software where I can make my own loops that would be great because i feel like when I just piece together some loops someone else made its like copying...thanks in advance... again I'm a beginner

Last edited:
You get better by practising, plain and simple - and of course there's a bunch of technical and theoretical stuff to learn. But nothing beats...making beats. That's how you'll improve - just don't expect an overnight sensation, it'll take a good while to actually become good at it.

As for the software, there's a lot of choice...your ol' pal FL has an OSX beta version; there's Live, Bitwig, Logic, Reaper, Studio One, Digital Performer, Pro Tools, Reason, Cubase and many more - so I guess it comes down to your budget & what feels the most comfortable to work with. Since most of them have some kind of trial versions, I'd suggest downloading those, maybe one at a time, and spending some time trying them out. There's a learning curve, but if you've dabbled around in FL you probably know the basics already.

If I were You I would start with Ableton Live. It has great looping properties. You can set whole scenes that will loop for You. Live has also many instruments and drums. There are tons of free drum samples in the web and also tons of tutorials (strat with YouTube). Learn basics and that move on to more difficult topics.

Last edited: