Best synth for funk house

acm

Best synth for funk/french/disco house

I'm relatively new to producing, and looking for a synthesizer that can do the following:

1. professional sounding house drum beats. Whenever I go to the pro audio shop, seems like I can never get those synths to make any drum beat what-so-ever. Are there any that produce a high quality one?

2. less trancy toons, more disco related. Maybe what I really need is a sampler, but again, the synths i try out are always trancey wish-wash'es

Just so you know, Im looking to produce music along the lines of daft punk, bob sinclar, basement jaxx, etc.

Help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited:
Sampler

Yep, you'll need a sampler... First of all for the beats you're talking about... You can get full samplesets for almost any drum machine on the world on the internet, so that would solve your drum question...

About synths to use... Try to find the gearlist of bassement jaxx... I would guess they have a Nord Lead inthere

Re: Best synth for funk/french/disco house

Hi!

Okay let me help you here...

"1. professional sounding house drum beats. Whenever I go to the pro audio shop, seems like I can never get those synths to make any drum beat what-so-ever. Are there any that produce a high quality one?"

I suggest that you get yourself a sampler. If you choose an AKAI S5000, beef it with 128MB of RAM, the O.S. 2.0, and the USb extension (VERY important, changes everything). Then, buy a few SAMPLE CDs. quality ones, with tons of beats. most of the artists are sampling and modifying the samples in order to get what they want. Build a library this way, with both cds, and your own kits. Synthesizers are not all sample based, and it is hard to get away from the analog-electro-kraftwerk type of drums if you cant use sample based drums.

"2. less trancy toons, more disco related. Maybe what I really need is a sampler, but again, the synths i try out are always trancey wish-wash'es"