My First Beat: A George Benson Sample - Feedback Needed

Im really diggin this. Its hard to believe this is your first beat. I'll leave it up to some one else to give some constructive criticism.

Good sampling, for sure!! Good work!! The only suggestions I'd make (in my opinion) would be to add more to the song (like some other instruments or even a bassline). What DAW are you using?

Good sampling, for sure!! Good work!! The only suggestions I'd make (in my opinion) would be to add more to the song (like some other instruments or even a bassline). What DAW are you using?

Please excuse my ignorance, but what's a DAW?

Adding more to the song has been a popular suggestion. The whole beat was made from putting together different tutorials on YouTube, I am very new to beatmaking so there is a lot of things I still need to learn. That's why the beat may sound basic.

I looked at a bassline tutorial but I was unable to make something that went with the beat, if that makes sense. I wasn't too sure what channel makes the best bass.

Appreciate the feedback.

Sorry about the acronym usage there haha! DAW = Digital Audio Workstation. I'm assuming since youre a beginner, that you're using some kinda computer software...like Reason/FL/Ableton?? I'm a beginner too....been messing around here and there for about a year and a half with FL8. I also have reason, but was waiting till I got FL down before I messed with Reason.

But anyways, back to your track. One common trick with creating a bassline is just to use the original sample and cut the high ends from it using a filter. And maybe add a little compression and some reverb. Try that and see how it sounds....I bet it will sound that much better!! Nonetheless, good ear on this track man with the sample...I like it alot.

-Niv

I could always use some critiquing on my tracks as well...check it out sometime....

http://nivrock.bandcamp.com/

http://lakefrontfactor.bandcamp.com/