*Beat Video* Altruwest TV Episode 19: Transitioning to Ableton Live 8

Focused

Sound Designer/Educator
[Youtube]o3uJjgDHl6E[/Youtube]

This is more of me discussing my transition into Ableton live and playing back some beat while in Ableton. No beats are being made, but this will give you an idea of what Im doing musically in Ableton. Leave you feedback and subscribe if you havent already, we are 19 episodes deep with no plans to quit.

Yeo,
Been usin' Logic for a good while now. Just over the past summer I got my shortcut key game down nice. But I'm starting to get sick of apple. I've been thinking about building a PC, and getting away from Pro Tools and Logic and start using Nuendo and Ableton.
So far you've had no problems with Ableton? As in crashes or glitchy material? Also if you quantize, how good is the program handling it?

Thanks for the vid money.

I cant say that im a pro at ableton, but I have made about 20 beats so far in Ableton since January without anything squirrely going on. Its been pretty stable for me on my setup which is Macbook Pro based. I too got tired of Apple and their lack of innovation and support for Logic. Logic has maintained pretty much the same short comings since Apple bought it (Hell look at how primitive EXS24 is). Quantization seems to be a fundamental part of Ableton because clips are being quantized all the time unless you tell Ableton to do otherwise. I have not had any issues with quantize even though I tend to program 85% of my stuff with no quantize because of the feel that I go for personally. I think overall I have had an amazing experience with ableton and its been quite motivating.

i find live scary lol. Just looking at the interface I get lost. But I've heard Rewiring my choice of software, (Reason) with Live, is the sh*t.

Good stuff though F Major ! Look forward to more videos :cheers: