WRITERS BLOCK - Producers equivalent

rogue element

I have been producing for about 2 years and recently things started going well - I have had 3 releases this year and have just been asked to do a remix for BK. However at the moment when I try and write anything I get about as far as the groove and a few samples and I find myself unable to get into my ideas, particularly when it comes to writing bass and top lines. It seems to happen more frequently as I improve. Does anyone else experience this and does anyone have any tips for overcoming it?

yeah this seems to come on when you start foccusing to much on making the track as opposed to hust sitting back and letting the beats flow. when this happens to me I just practice my scales or study technical shyt cause its a bytch to get outta. for me Im at my peak when Im not thinking about making music and im on the keys or my guitar and just let my fingers move. kinda hard to explain but as a fellow artist you proly know what im talking about.....

Well I know it wouldn't help you much, but I can say that I have a kind of "producer's block" too... since I have my Memorymoog I'm so much experimenting with the synth that I have no time (or rather: no inspiration) for new tracks. I'm playing something, I think it's great, then I find a newer great sound, so my first line is for the recycle bin, etc.

Also I've been making especially hard trance and progressive up 'till now, but I'm seriously thinking about some experimenting with elektro (the vintage synths I own are great for that retro-sound style of music). Is anybody here having experience with switching from trance into elektro ?

And rogue element, don't worry: as time goes by, you'll find back your inspiration... just a question of time... meanwhile go reading a book or so...