Write a song - Steps by Steps ?

C

cowby

Hi,

I am an newbie on writing song and need you guys to give me some direction.

When do I start first ?

Chord, melody, and drum which one to do first

Cowby

what up...
it's really different for everybody. Some people lay down the drums first, then the bass, then add chords and melody.

I personally have written different songs in different orders. I've started with the chords then added drums, then bass, then melody. I've also started with a melody then added chords, and drums, then bass. I've also started with drums, then chords, then bass.

I'd say start with whatever you have an idea for. If you have a good idea for a melody in your head, then start with that, record it- or sequence it- listen to it and try to hear what you want to add to it. If you can picture a really good beat with it, add that next. then, a really good bass line might pop into your head. etc...

just start with what you have first, then go with it. :)
-Mike

Mike,

Thanks for your reply.

Yes, I got a so-called "Chord dictionary" book which shows me how to place your fingers to form a chord. But the point is at least one must know some theory / tricks say if the first chord is C Major/Minor, what possibles chords to be next and next and next ?

Cowby

I listen to my feelings.

in general I choose a range of note, i place my left hand and press some deep pads to start feel the inspiration coming... i press different notes on that chosen range, slowly.. then i try to repeat again and again the same movement as i perfect it and correct it... then i place my rigth hand on the keyboard and try to find a melody or a suite of notes that really makes the whole thing stand out.

etc.. etc.. :)

ManoOne,

Agree, if the sound is good (i mean the sound combination) than sometimes we don't have to bind to those so-called music theory. But on-and-on, actually our feeling will fall-in those theory without notice :)

Cowby

True... True...